SONATE, Alain Margoni

SONATE, Alain Margoni

Cover of the edition in Gérard Billaudot, Paris (FRA)

It is a brilliant work, with many advanced techniques on the baritone that requires a good work on chamber music, as well. You will enjoy!

The composer

ALAIN MARGONI (Neuilly-Plaisance, France, 1934) is a composer, conductor, teacher, pianist, musicologist, lecturer and essayist. He is versatile musician (or multicolored, as he likes to define himself) who believes that the practice of various disciplines is a sign of vitality, courage and open-mindedness.

He was a student of Tony Aubin and Olivier Messiaen. He won the prestigious Prix de Rome for the cantata “Dans les Jardins d’Armide” in 1959, so he used to live in the capital city of Italy between 1960-1963. His production includes more than 80 works of diverse genres. On the other hand, he conducted the Comédie-Française Orchestra (1966-1973-1974) and was professor of Music Analysis at the National Conservatory of Music in Paris since 1973.

Details of the work

Publisher: Gérard Billaudot Editeur, Paris (FRA)
Duration: Around 8:30
Range (written): A2 – A6
TECHNIQUES: Tonguing accuracy, diversity of articulations, stability of pulse, very fast excerpts, intonation, flatter, trills and tremolos, overtones, multiphonics, extreme altissimo register.
PERFORMANCE: Play with ease and lot of energy on the fast section. Conjunction with the piano. Scenic attitude.

Watch the video!

Meaning and structure

The SONATE for baritone saxophone and piano was premiered at the 5th Saxophone World Congress held in London (UK) in 1976 by Jean Ledieu (to whom the work is dedicated) and Alain Margoni himself at the piano.

Regarding the original repertoire for baritone saxophone and piano, Alain Margoni’s SONATE should be known and performed more frequently. I have nothing against transcriptions from other instruments such as the cello, the bassoon, the bass clarinet, etc., but we baritonists have to spread the best original works of our repertoire. If we saxophonists do not, who will do it for us

Alain Margoni’s SONATE is composed in a single movement which three different sections are played without interruption:

  1. RITMICO: The baritone saxophone starts the SONATE with a solid and rhythmic theme that combines sixteenth and eighth notes in different rhythmic groups. The whole section is a very fast Allegro with a strong rhythmic character.
  2. CADENZA: The main theme appears with many rhythmic variations and varied groups of sixteenth notes and eighth notes. There are some tempo changes and fast excerpts detached in a virtuoso intention.
  3. FINAL: This is the most flexible and colourful section of the SONATE, contrasting with the rhythm and solidity of the first section. The tempo is quite slow and calm. We will find some beautiful multiphonics and some delicate excerpts in the altissimo register towards the end of the work.

Don’t hesitate to contact me if you want to work on Margoni’s SONATE with me.


Share This Article

Related Posts